The Lichfield Murders: book launch

The Burning Zone - Lichfield murders.png

On Saturday October 5th, 2019, Michael Anson will spend an afternoon in Lichfield to celebrate the launch of The Burning Zone

His debut publication, a thriller set in eighteenth-century Lichfield, England, published in September 2019. It is the first instalment of The Apothecary Greene Trilogy, of which volumes 2 and 3 are to publish in 2020.

All are invited to join Michael as he reads from the book and talks about the city and the famous Lichfeldians who have inspired his writing. Afterwards, at Erasmus Darwin House, Page d’Or invite attendees to a wine reception. Admission is free. 

 2pm: Author reading & signing

The Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum Bookshop

Breadmarket St, Lichfield WS13 6LG

4pm: Public talk & reception

Erasmus Darwin House, Lunar Room

Beacon St, Lichfield WS13 7AD

The Burning Zone – Michael Anson – Page d’Or Books

BZ - thumbnail.jpg

ISBN 978-1-9191297-1-9 – RRP £10.99

The Burning Zone is a historical thriller set in 18th-century Lichfield, a city that provides not only a microcosm of The English Enlightenment, but also the murderous setting in which Richard Greene, real-life Apothecary, antiquarian and Museum-Keeper extraordinaire, must somehow withstand the terrible legacy of an older, darker time. It follows the pitiless ritual of vengeance enacted from beyond the grave on all who sat in judgement on a demented anabaptist: the last heretic to be burned in Britain – a hideously botched execution enacted in the little city’s own marketplace.

Artist, academic and sometime Bluesman, Michael Anson lives in Norfolk and previously lived and taught in Lichfield. This is his debut novel, the first instalment of the Apothecary Greene Trilogy.

Artboard 6.jpg

Founded in 2019, Page d’Or is a Cambridge-based publishing imprint dedicated to historical fiction and nonfiction.

The Burning Zone is available to order in all good bookshops, and from Amazon